Walkers in the City

If the pandemic has awakened a peripatetic impulse in you, you’re not alone. Walkers in the City, edited by poet Dennis Barone, invites the reader to do some urban ambling in cities large and small, here and abroad, real and imagined. Featuring poems by Julia Blumenreich, David Cappella, Julie Choffel, James Finnegan, Charles Fort, Eli Goldblatt, Yusef Komunyakaa, Susan Lewis, Sheila E. Murphy, Maureen Owen, V. Penelope Pelizzon, Ines P. Rivera Prosdocimi, Clare Rossini, and Jerome Sala. See biographies of the poets below!

To traverse the country digitally, you can watch some of the contributors to Walkers in the City read their poems in this special video event presentation: Watch here.

$10, plus $4 shipping in the US.Published 2021.

Purchase this chapbook via Paypal here.

About the Authors

Dennis Barone is the editor of Garnet Poems: An Anthology of Connecticut Poetry Since 1776 (Wesleyan University Press, 2012) and author of Frame Narrative (Blaze Vox, 2018).
Julia Blumenreich received a Milken Educator Award. She is the author of Meeting Tessie (Singing Horse Press, 1994) and The What of Underfoot (Finishing Line Press, 2021).
David Cappella is co-author with Baron Wormser of The Art of Poetry: The Moves (Routledge Press, 1999) and author of Giacomo: A Solitaire’s Opera (Cervena Barva Press, 2021), in Italian translation from Bertoni Editore later this year.
Julie Choffel is the author of The Hello Delay (Fordham University Press, 2012). For the past three years she has been the Poet Laureate of West Hartford, CT.
James Finnegan is the co-editor with Dennis Barone of Visiting Wallace: Poems Inspired by the Life and Work of Wallace Stevens (University of Iowa Press, 2009). His poems have appeared in journals such as Ploughshares and The Virginia Quarterly Review.
Charles Fort is the author of We Did Not Fear the Father: New and Selected Poems (Red Hen Press, 2012) and The Last Black Hippie in Connecticut (a novel, forthcoming from Quale Press).
Eli Goldblatt is the author of Writing Home: A Literacy Autobiography (Southern Illinois University Press, 2012) and For Instance (Chax Press, 2019).
Yusef Komunyakaa has received the Wallace Stevens Award, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize. Everyday Mojo Songs of Earth: New and Selected Poems, 2001–2021 is coming soon from Farrar, Straus and Giroux.
Susan Lewis edits Positand is the author of ten books and chapbooks, including Zoom, winner of the Washington Prize (The Word Works, 2018).
Sheila E. Murphy is the author of Golden Milk (Luna Bisonte Productions, 2020). She co-founded and coordinated the Scottsdale Center for the Arts Poetry Series for twelve years.
Maureen Owen is the author of Edges of Water (Chax Press, 2013) and Erosion’s Pull: Poems (Coffee House Press, 2006).
V. Penelope Pellizzon is the author of Whose Flesh Is Flame, Whose Bone Is Time: Poems (Waywiser Press, 2014) and Nostos: Poems (Ohio University Press, 2000).
Ines P. Rivera Prosdocimi is the author of Love Letter to an Afterlife (Black Lawrence Press, 2018). She holds a Ph.D. in Comparative Literature from the University of Maryland.
Clare Rossini is co-editor with Benjamin S. Grossberg of The Poetry of Capital: Voices from Twenty-First-Century America (University of Wisconsin Press, 2021) and author of Lingo (University of Akron Press, 2006).
Jerome Sala’s Corporations Are People Too! was published in 2017 by NYQ Books.